Book Reviews – Fiction

The Choice – Samantha King

Reviewed by Amber Vitharana

For fans of The Couple Next Door, I See You and He Said/She Said, The Choice is a hypnotic suspense debut from a remarkable new talent and explores the terrifying Sophie’s Choice scenario: What if you had to choose between your children?

‘Beautifully written, taut, tense and very clever.’ Claire Douglas, Sunday Times bestselling author of Last Seen Alive.

Then:  Madeleine lived for her children. She’d always believed she’d die for them too. But on the morning of her twins’ tenth birthday, her love was put to the test when a killer knocked on their door and forced her to make a devastating choice: which child should live, and which should die – her son, or her daughter?

Now:

Madeleine stands silently on the periphery of her fractured family, trying desperately to unravel why her world was so suddenly blown apart. But as memories of everything leading up to that tragic day return in agonising flashes, she begins to realise her family’s life still hangs terrifyingly in the balance…

Reviewed by Amber Vitharana

What a book!  The start was explosive – you want to know what happened to make Maddie choose between her kids and you only half believe it. But Maddie believes it, and so you have no choice but to follow her thoughts and ramblings, from happy beginnings to domestic abuse, from best friend to adultress.  When the truth is finally revealed or rather unravels,  you whoop with joy and relief and confusion. Then, of course, it’s a roller-coaster ride to the end –  you’re never quite sure what will come next, and at some point you start skipping descriptions, hurtling towards the end.

When you finish, you’re a little numb from the excess of emotions that you’ve been forced to endure.

A roller coaster of a book  – I loved it.

The only fault I feel is that she drags out the story a bit and at some point, the writing seems to get in the way of the storytelling.

Similar books –  Girl on the Train, Gone Girl

This is a top 10 Amazon bestseller.

Thank you for using this Amazon affiliate link. By using this link, you help Chapters to earn a small commision from Amazon for the time spent on this article, at no extra charge to you. Our sincere thanks also to our contributors for their loyal support.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *